The Henleaze Society  
Serving the Henleaze community in North Bristol
henleaze montage

Henleaze History





The Henleaze Book

A second edition of The Henleaze Book  written by Veronica Bowerman gives a fascinating glimpse into the history of Henleaze seen through the eyes of many old residents. The book sets out in great detail how the land was once used and how it has changed over the years to provide a thriving community of houses, shops and businesses.

Click Here to contact Veronica Bowerman for further information.  Or view the  web site

The Henleaze Lake Story

The Henleaze Lake Story written by Derek and Joyce Klemperer is an account of the Henleaze Lake and Henleaze Swimming Club from the earliest quarrying days to the present time.

Swimming is available from May to September.  There is also a fishing section.  The Club was founded in 1919 and now has a membership of 1400.

For further information go to:

Stained glass windows

Henleaze houses have a variety of stained glass windows fitted in homes throughout the community. They are mainly found in houses built in the 1920s and 30s. Local historian Julian Lea Jones has researched the origin of the windows. Find out more.

One Hundred Years of Life in our Church 1907-2007

The book is the history of Trinity-Henleaze United Reformed Church and is the result of research based on old documentation and personal recollections of local churchgoers. The church, situated in Waterford Road, has always maintained a close link with the community. Also covered is local history and social background.  The book will be of interest therefore to local residents.

For further information go to:






The Henleaze Book
Henleaze Lake



















Home | The Society  | Henleaze Diary  |  Transport  |  Planning  |  Membership | Sports Ground  |  History | Contact
Copyright © The Henleaze Society  -  Registered Charity  No 269072